Harrison Wood

UOIT Honour Campoli, Bordeleau

UOIT Celebrates 10 years of Athletics by Handing out Annual Awards

OSHAWA, Ont. – To cap off a celebration of the 10th anniversary of the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) athletic department, Kylie Bordeleau (Cambridge, Ont.) and Fabio Campol (Frosinone, Italy) were named the athletes of the year.

With alumni, staff, administration, student-athletes and special guests in attendance, Bordeleau won the honour in back-to-back years. The Cambridge native captained the UOIT women's soccer team to the school's first OUA championship and U SPORTS medal (bronze) after being named the Ridgebacks first OUA most valuable player and receiving a first-team all-star honour for a third straight season.

At the national championship, she was also named a U SPORTS All-Canadian for the second time, this time to the first team.

The men's athlete of the year, Campoli became the first player in program history to be named an OUA first-team all-star. He became the player to etch his name in the UOIT history books after scoring 10 goals in 15 games for the Ridgebacks. In his second season he nearly scored half of the team's goals and finished fifth in league scoring. His 10 goals also broke the school's single-season scoring record of six, which was set in 2015.

Earlier in the evening Bordeleau was named her team's MVP, while Campoli received the men's soccer leadership award.

Women's soccer striker Rhiannon Kissel (Peterborough, Ont.) and men's badminton player Jonas Albaira (Whitby, Ont.) were named the freshman athletes of the year just prior to the final awards of the night.

Other major award winners included Abigail Kawalec (Toronto, Ont.– Women's Badminton/Rowing) and Alexander Cuccovillo (Ajax, Ont. – Men's Soccer) who were named the Dr. Gary Polonsky Leadership Award recipients. Tyler Tompsett (Whitby, Ont.) was named the recipient of the Rob Millikin Award, which is presented to the rowing athlete who best exemplifies and displays the following criteria: academic success, passion and heart. Nate Mitton (Kitchener, Ont.) and Kassidy Nauboris (Brampton, Ont.) were the recipients of James-Baun Cup, which is presented to a student on the men's and women's hockey teams who shows commitment, dedication, perseverance, academic responsibility, leadership and is a great teammate in the pursuit of excellence. The Cup is named after Bobby Baun and his long-time friend Don James.

The inaugural NuStadia Recreation bursary winners were also announced, with Tyler Tompsett of the men's rowing team and Hafsah Sher (Oshawa, Ont.) of the women's rowing and curling teams receiving the awards. This award is awarded to a student-athlete that has contributed to outreach programs, community service or grassroots sport development. In 2016 the men's hockey team ended the women's soccer team's three-year streak of winning the team of the year award, but this year women's soccer regained the title after winning the school's first OUA championship and U SPORTS medal in any sport. They also won the east division title for the first time. Earlier in the evening the UOIT rowing team also had a special presentation, christening their newest boat, naming after rowing alumna Christie Attwood.

While a Ridgeback, Attwood won numerous awards highlighted by the OUA Women of Influence and UOIT's Dr. Gary Polonsky Leadership Award. Since graduation she has stayed involved with the team as a coach and team manager, while also helping to grow the rowing and overall Ridgeback alumni network.

Male Athlete of the Year

Female Athlete of the Year

Male Freshman
Athlete of the Year

Female Freshman

Athlete of the Year

Dr. Gary Polonsky
Leadership Award

James-Baun Cup

Rob Millikin Award

Athletic Therapy Student

Trainer of the Year

ETS Captain's Award

NuStadia Recreation Bursary

of the Year

Overall GPA Award

Read More!

advertise online or in print

Call us today at 416-843-3801

Email us