Durham College Honours Athletes

Harrison Wood

Prestigious Awards Given out to the Lords's Top Athletes at 47th Annual Banquet

OSHAWA, Ont. – Lindsay Panchan (Ajax, Ont.) of the women’s basketball team, Allison Marshall (Orillia, Ont.) of the women’s volleyball team and Harrison Wood (Uxbridge, Ont.) of the men’s volleyball team were named the Durham College athletes of the year at the 47th annual Athletic Banquet Thursday night at the General W. Sikorski Polish Hall in Oshawa.

Panchan, a sports management major, was named the female athlete of the year for the third straight season after another impressive season in green and gold. She capped off her collegiate career by being named the first three-time CCAA All-Canadian in any sport at Durham College, as well as leading the OCAA in scoring for the third year with 25.8 points per game. Panchan also finished second in Durham all-time scoring, recording 1,109 points in just 44 games.

By winning athlete of the year, Panchan also became the first three-time athlete of the year since hall of famer Erin Smith won three straight from 2003-2005.

Marshall, a sports management major, became the first Durham Lord to be named an OCAA women’s volleyball player of the year. She received the honour after completing her five-year college career between the Georgian Grizzlies and Durham Lords, which saw her finish sixth all-time in OCAA scoring with 1,029 points. This season she was fifth in the OCAA with 3.20 kills per set (176 kills), sixth in points per set with 4.0 and tenth in aces per set with 0.67. She is also the first women’s volleyball CCAA All-Canadian since Erin Smith in 2003-04. Marshall and her teammates would end up winning a silver medal at the OCAA championship in Windsor.

Other female MVPs included soccer’s Irene Halis (Maple, Ont.), Ashley Black (Waterloo, Ont. - softball), Shannon Dean (Whitby, Ont. – volleyball) and indoor soccer MVP Taylor Ford (Brooklin, Ont.).

Wood, an electrical engineering student, was dominant down the middle for the Lords this season, which earned him provincial recognition with a first-team all-star award. He finished conference play with the third best hitting percentage in the OCAA (.395), second in blocks per set (0.93) and finished second at Durham with 3.6 points per set.

He was key in helping Durham knock off the No. 1 ranked Fanshawe Falcons in the provincial semifinal, which landed the Lords their first men’s volleyball medal (silver) since 2006.

Other male MVPs included golf’s Colin Jex (Port Hope, Ont.), Bruce Cullen (Pickering, Ont. – soccer), Logan Stewart (Lindsay, Ont. – baseball), Funsho Dimeji (Malton, Ont. - basketball), John Pham (Mississauga, Ont. – volleyball) and indoor soccer’s Cody Kraemer (Whitby, Ont.). Jaimie Clarke (Elmvale, Ont.) of the women’s softball team and Lucas Pichl (Cobourg, Ont.) of the men’s golf/volleyball teams were named the freshman athletes of the year, while Lucia Kalmeyer (Oshawa, Ont.) of the women’s volleyball team and Michael Chilvers (Sutton West, Ont.) of the baseball team won the "Bonnie Ginter-Brown" Leadership Awards.

For the first time since 2006, Durham College won an OCAA medal in men’s volleyball – a silver. Their accomplishment earned them the title of team of the year.

Overall Male Athlete of the Year "William Avery Memorial" Award

Overall Female
Athletes of the Year

Freshman Athletes of the Year

"Bonnie Ginter-Brown"
Leadership Award

Team of the Year

Four-Year Award

Five-Year Award

Student Trainer of the Year

Allison Marshall

advertise online or in print

Call us today at 416-843-3801

Email us